Apple Configuration Utility

iPhone

  • iPhone Configuration Utility Help

    iPhone Configuration Utility lets you easily create, maintain, encrypt, and push configuration profiles, track and install provisioning profiles and authorized applications, and capture device information including console logs.

 

Backing up and restoring data

Note: If you use third-party backup software, make sure that the directory ~/Library/Containers/ is not excluded from the backup.

To recover your Apple Configurator data from a Time Machine backup:

  1. Choose Enter Time Machine from the Time Machine menu extra or System Preference pane.
  2. Press Command-Shift-G and type: ~/Library/Containers/
  3. Select the item “com.apple.configurator” in the backup with the appropriate date.
  4. Click Restore.

If you are using third-party backup software, follow its instructions to restore ~/Library/Containers/com.apple.configurator.

You may also want to recover the contents of ~/Library/Keychains information from the backup of the same date, to recover the Supervision Certificate and public and private keys. These will allow supervised devices to reconnect to the host computer.

Restoring data to a new Mac

In order to restore Apple Configurator data to a new Mac (or to the same Mac after it has been erased and reinstalled) you should restore from a full backup instead of restoring specific files. After restoring a full backup you can use the new or reinstalled Mac to manage devices supervised by the previous Apple Configurator Mac.

Additional Information

If you have supervised devices with Apple Configurator and you lose the Apple Configurator data files, the devices will still be supervised by the Mac that is running Configurator, but Apple Configurator will not be able to reinstall app backups or user data onto those supervised devices.

It is especially important to back up Apple Configurator information if you are using VPP codes. After a VPP code has been redeemed, only the Apple Configurator database keeps a record of what device that code was redeemed for. If this database is lost, and the app is deleted from the device, Apple Configurator will not be able to reuse the redeemed code in order to install the app, and you will need to purchase and redeem additional codes to replace the app on a device.

 

Enrolling devices in Profile Manager

You can create and download an Enrollment Profile in the Profile Manager web interface then import it into Apple Configurator. Note: Enrollment Profiles created in Lion Server will appear in Apple Configurator with the name “Auto-Join Devices Enrollment”.

Devices must be connected to a Wi-Fi network when you install the Enrollment Profile. You can either start by restoring a backup made from a device on the Wi-Fi network, or install a configuration profile containing a Wi-Fi payload to configure network access.

If you are using an SSL or code signing certificate that is self-signed, or is signed by an authority not in Apple’sdefault trust chain, you will also need to install the Profile Manager server’s Trust Profile on the devices to be enrolled. The Trust Profile can be downloaded from the menu in the top toolbar of Profile Manager’s web admin interface or the My Devices user portal.

When you prepare a device with multiple configuration profiles selected, Apple Configurator will automatically install the Enrollment Profile last, after restoring from backup and installing all other profiles, so you can combine all of these tasks and Apple Configurator will perform them in the correct order.